Big guns return as India name squad for Asia Cup 2022

Asia Cup 2022 : The BCCI revealed the 15-person India team for the 2022 Asia Cup on Monday, August 8.

Rohit Sharma will be in charge of a 15-person team, which will include some regulars who were given time off for the Zimbabwe tour.

Virat Kohli and KL Rahul, both batsmen, return to the lineup, although star pacer Jasprit Bumrah is not included due to a back ailment. Harshal Patel, a pacer, is also out because of an injury.

Asia Cup 2022

The BCCI announced on Twitter that Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel were unavailable for selection due to injury. At the NCA in Bengaluru, they are now receiving rehabilitation.

“Three players have been designated as standbys: Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, and Deepak Chahar.”

Instead of them, India’s pace group is led by the excellent left-arm bowler Arshdeep Singh, who was kept in the team following a series of noteworthy displays during the West Indies tour.

The squad’s other two pace options were Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Avesh Khan.

Virat Kohli’s Predicament for India: The ICC Review:

Kohli, a former captain, rejoins the team after last playing during India’s tour of England. For India’s trip to the West Indies and the impending series against Zimbabwe, he was rested.

Rahul also made a comeback, having overcome a protracted injury and regained full fitness. After the IPL, Rahul needed surgery for a sports hernia.

He was supposed to make a comeback during India’s T20I series against the West Indies, but his return was further postponed when a COVID-19 test result came out positive before the tour.

As the competition was taking place in the United Arab Emirates, India’s team included a potent spin foursome. Yuzvendra Chahal, a leg-spinner, is back after receiving a rest for the five-match T20I series against the West Indies.

He will team up with Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, and the young Ravi Bishnoi.

Rishabh Pant’s ideal batting position, according to Ricky Ponting : The ICC Review:

India has selected a number of middle-order power hitters, including Deepak Hooda, in addition to regulars Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, and Suryakumar Yadav.

The Asia Cup will start on August 27 in the United Arab Emirates, while India’s campaign will begin on August 28 in Dubai versus archrival Pakistan.

All of the teams will view this competition as of utmost importance as they step up their preparations for the 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, which will be held in Australia in October-November.

Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, and Avesh Khan are the players for India.

Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, and Deepak Chahar are available.

Leave a Comment