Asia Cup 2022 schedule announced; India vs Pakistan match on August 28

Asia Cup 2022 schedule : On Tuesday, August 2, the schedule for the 15th Asia Cup was officially released, with the opening match between Afghanistan and Sri Lanka scheduled for August 27 in Dubai.

Tuesday saw the formal release of the Asia Cup 2022 scheduled by the Board of Control for Cricket in India. The 15th iteration of the competition will begin on August 27 at the Dubai International Stadium. The first match will feature Sri Lanka vs. Afghanistan, and the second will have the defending champions India vs. Pakistan at the exact location.

Asia Cup 2022 schedule

“The fight for Asian dominance will finally start on August 27, with the crucial championship game taking place on September 11. The ICC T20 World Cup will be well-prepared with the help of the 15th Asia Cup, “Jay Shah, secretary of the BCCI and president of the Asian Cricket Council, tweeted.

The tournament will occur in Dubai and Sharjah, with the former hosting 10 of the 13 games, including the championship on September 11.

Given the continuous political unrest and previous difficulties in the island nation, Sri Lanka was initially scheduled to host the 2022 Asia Cup. However, the tournament was only formally transferred to the UAE last week.

However, Sri Lanka Cricket kept the right to host.

“Every attempt was made to host the Asia Cup in Sri Lanka,” Jay Shah said in a press release on July 27. “The decision to change the location to the UAE was taken.” “The UAE will serve as the new location, with hosting rights remaining with Sri Lanka.”

Since 2016, the tournament has alternately been contested in the ODI or T20I formats depending on the format of the upcoming international competitions. Less than a year before the 2019 World Cup in England and Wales, the previous edition back in 2018 was contested in the UAE in an ODI format.

India won their sixth championship after defeating Bangladesh by seven wickets on the final ball. Rohit Sharma captained the team.

Sri Lanka has won five of the 14 editions that have been contested since 1984 (1986, 1997, 2004, 2008, and 2014), while Pakistan has won two (2000 and 2012).

UAE, Kuwait, Singapore, and Hong Kong will compete in the qualifying round before the tournament. The winners will join India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh in the main event. The qualifying team will be placed in Group A with Pakistan and India, while Group B will consist of Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan.

In the first round, each team will play the other two teams in the group once, with the top two teams moving on to the Super 4 stage. The top two teams from the round will compete in the championship game on September 11. Each of the four teams in Super 4 will play each other once.

Leave a Comment